Kentucky Wrestling Coaches Association

                                                                                                        Hall of Fame


The Kentucky Wrestling Coaches Association Hall of Fame is to recognize the outstanding coaches and individuals who, through their coaching achievements and service, have brought honor to themselves, their school, community, and the sport of Wrestling in Kentucky.


Qualifications for Induction:

1.       Must have been a wrestling head coach in the state of Kentucky for at least 8 years.

2.       All achievements must have been earned as a Kentucky head coach.

3.       Must be retired from a head coaching position for at least 2 years, or active with a minimum of 15 years coaching experience and at least 10 years as head coach.

4.       Coaches may be inducted posthumously.


Distinguished Service Honor: A Kentucky wrestling individual who has been a coach, volunteer, committee member, official, state tournament worker… or a combination of for a combined total of 10 years.  This person has devoted time an energy towards improving and promoting wrestling throughout the state of Kentucky.


Nomination/ Induction Process:

1.       All candidates must be nominated by a KYWCA member.

2.       Nomination/ Application forms will be available at the state tournament and must be returned to the KYWCA by May 1st of that year.

3.       A maximum of 3 coaches and 1 distinguished service honoree will be inducted each year at the state wrestling tournament.

4.       A committee of 5 current and past coaches will be appointed each year by the KYWCA officers to serve 2, 3, or 5 year terms.

5.       Nominations will be kept on file and re-evaluated for 3 years.

6.       Coaches may be nominated more than once.

7.       It is the responsibility of the nominator to see that the application is sent completed and returned on time by the nominee.  All late nominations will be reviewed the following year.


Induction/ Awards:

1.       Induction and awards will be presentation will be conducted each year at the annual KYWCA state clinic and KHSAA state wrestling tournament.

2.       Hall of Fame rings will not be given posthumously.

3.       Those inducted posthumously will be awarded recognition plaque, which will be presented to a designated representative indicated by the nominator.


                                      2012            Wayne Baddia                   Conner                                  Coach

                                       2012           Rusty Parks                  Woodford County                     Coach

                                      2013            Norman Powell               Henry Clay                              Coach

                                      2013            Jim Plossener               Hopkinsville                               Coach

                                      2013            Mike Thomas               Union County                              Coach

                                     2013             Jack Cline                   Woodford County               Service Award

                                      2014            Dennis Walls               Union County                               Coach

                                      2014             Bro. Joe Wilham         Newport Catholic                      Coach

                                      2014              Tom Mccoy                 Bluegrass State Games     Service Award

                                     2014              Tom Sellars                     Danville                           Service Award

                                     2015              Rick Dingus                 Harrison County                        Coach

                                     2015             Larry  Mann             School for the Blind             Service Award 

                                     2016             Gary Canter                 LaRue County                             Coach

                                     2016             Phil Coomes                Louisville Eastern                       Coach

                                     2017             Jim Matney        Sheldon Clark/Johnson Central       Coach

                                     2017            Chuck Anderson           Louisville Seneca                      Coach

                                     2018            Luda Dixon                    Kentucky AAU                  Service Award

                                     2018            Mike Bankemper         Campbell County                      Coach

                                     2018            Eddie Rudolph              Louisville Trinity                      Coach

                                     2019            Jim Perrian                   Christian County                      Coach

                                     2019            Raymond Webb            Frankfort                          Service Award

                                     2020           Robert Ervin                 Union County                             Coach

                                     2020           Danny Upchurch           Wayne County                           Coach

                                     2020           Garrett Headley             Henry Clay                      Service Award




                                   KYWCA HALL OF FAME